Skip to content

Palm Springs · Renting & eviction

Notices in Palm Springs

Rent increase notice: at least 60 days on Measure H units and 90 days under the original rent control chapter (city rules).

Key points

  • Rent increase notice: Rent increase notice: at least 60 days on Measure H units and 90 days under the original rent control chapter (city rules).

Each rule below links to the section of the Palm Springs Municipal Code it was read from, with the code text one click away (checked October 2026). General information, not legal advice.

What Palm Springs's code says

Palm Springs code What Palm Springs's code adds
Notice of a rent increase
  • At least 90 days before the increase takes effect.
    Applies: Units under the city's original rent control chapter.
    § 4.02.080 · code text
    Any such increase shall become effective not less than ninety days after service of notice by the landlord on the tenant.
  • At least 30 days before the increase, a second notice stating the dollar amount.
    Applies: Units under the original rent control chapter, when the first notice did not state the dollar amount.
    § 4.02.080 · code text
    a supplemental or additional notice which does state the actual dollar amount of such rent increase shall be served upon the tenant, in the manner prescribed by law, not less than thirty days prior to the effective date of such rent increase.
  • At least 60 days before the increase takes effect.
    Applies: Units under the city's 1990 Measure H rent law.
    § 4.08.110 · code text
    Any such increase shall become effective not less than sixty days after service of notice by the landlord on the tenant.
  • The pass-through can start 60 days after written notice.
    Applies: Registration and renewal fee pass-through on Measure H units; the notice must refer to that rule and all past registration fees must be paid.
    § 4.08.110 · code text
    The pass-through provided in this subsection may be implemented sixty days following written notice given by landlord to tenant, which notice shall provide specific reference to this subsection.
What a notice must say
  • The actual dollar amount of the rent increase.
    Applies: Units under the original rent control chapter, when the first rent increase notice did not state the dollar amount.
    § 4.02.080 · code text
    a supplemental or additional notice which does state the actual dollar amount of such rent increase shall be served upon the tenant
  • The base rent, current rent, date of the last increase, and current allowed percentage increase over base rent.
    Applies: Before raising rent on a unit under the Measure H rent law.
    § 4.08.110 · code text
    Notifying the tenant or prospective tenant in writing of the base rent of said unit, the present rent of said unit, the date of the last previous rent increase, and the current allowable percentage of increase over the base rent
  • In the language the owner and tenant used to negotiate the tenancy.
    § 4.10.080 · code text
    The owner must give notices to the tenant in the language that the owner and tenant used to negotiate the terms of the tenancy.

The California rule underneath

Where Palm Springs's rule above does not cover a situation, state law still applies.

CA state law The statewide rule underneath
Notice of a rent increase
At least 30 days' notice for an increase of 10% or less; at least 90 days for an increase of more than 10%
Applies: The 10% is measured against the rent charged at any time in the 12 months before the increase, counting all increases in that period together.
Notice to end a month-to-month tenancy (landlord)
60 days' notice; 30 days if the tenant has lived there less than one year
Applies: Where the unit is covered by just cause (Civ. Code § 1946.2) or a local ordinance, the notice must also state a qualifying cause.
Notice to end a month-to-month tenancy (tenant)
At least as long as the rental period (one month for a month-to-month tenancy)
30-day notice when the unit is sold to an owner-occupant
30 days' notice when a separately sellable unit is in escrow to a natural person who will live there for at least a year
Applies: Notice within 120 days of opening escrow, given once, and all § 1946.1(d) conditions met.
Notice to pay rent or quit
3 days, not counting Saturdays, Sundays and judicial holidays, stating the amount due and how to pay
Applies: May be served any time within one year after the rent became due.
Notice to cure a lease violation or quit
3 days, not counting Saturdays, Sundays and judicial holidays, to perform the broken lease term or leave
No fee for serving notices
A landlord may not charge the tenant a fee for serving or posting a notice

Who this affects

TenantsLandlordsProperty managers

Frequently asked questions

How much notice does a Palm Springs landlord have to give?

Rent increase notice: at least 60 days on Measure H units and 90 days under the original rent control chapter (city rules).

General information, not legal advice.

Ask about a specific Palm Springs property

Ask GoCodebook how Palm Springs's notices rules apply to your situation and get an answer that cites the section.

Ask your question

More on renting & eviction in Palm Springs